The Different Stages of Grief

The Different Stages of Grief

This guide to the different stages of grief can help you identify and navigate them to find comfort and healing for yourself or a family member.

  • Stage 1: Denial

    You may feel this in the first hours, days, or even weeks after the passing of a loved one.

    Give yourself time and permission to feel however you feel. These are all normal parts of the process.

  • Stage 2: Pain and Guilt

    Self-blame is common when experiencing grief. Thoughts of “I should’ve done something” or “I put them in hospice care in Saginaw, Michigan too late” might pop up to haunt you. At this stage, it’s important that you let go of the guilt. Talk to a professional if things get too tough.

  • Stage 3: Anger

    Many people use anger to shield themselves from intense pain. But pain is not something to be ashamed or angry about. Have more compassion for yourself.

    Most hospice care in Bay City, Michigan also provides bereavement counseling for grieving loved ones. And with the help of the right professional, you can move on to the final stage.

  • Stage 4: Acceptance

    No matter how deep your grief is, slowly but surely, you’ll find that you’re coming back into yourself. You’ll feel moments of surprising joy, sometimes followed by guilt.

    You don’t have to feel bad about being happy. Remember that life goes on and we’re meant to go forward, regardless of what’s happened in the past.

As a provider of both Hospice and home health care in Saginaw, Michigan, we at All Valley Home Health & Hospice Care understand how difficult it can be to cope with grief.

If you ever need any assistance, reach out to us and we’ll do all we can to help you.

This entry was posted in Grief and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *